Music in Perspective

English Novels

These are the landmarks of the English Novel which I have chosen to use in the comparisons with the works of the major composers.

1660: Pepys: Diary (start)
1678: Bunyan: Pilgrim's Progress
1719: Defoe: Robinson Crusoe
1749: Fielding: Tom Jones
1767: Sterne: Tristram Shandy
1811: Austen: Sense and Sensibility
1819: Shelley: Frankenstein
1836: Dickens: Pickwick Papers
1847: Bronte: Jane Eyre
1863: Kingsley: The Water Babies
1872: Eliot: Middlemarch
1891: Hardy: Tess of the Durbervilles
1904: Lawrence: Women in Love
1929: Faulkner: Sound and the Fury
1937: Joyce: Finnegan's Wake
1949: Orwell: 1984
1967: Drabble: Jerusalem the Golden
1973: Pynchon: Gravity's Rainbow
1980: Golding: Rites of Passage

Index of Composers  Index of Compositions  Index of Countries  Timeline of Dates

World Politics  Philosophy  Science  Art History  English Poetry  Foreign Literature