Previous: Modern Middle EastBack to Main Index MODERN WARSAW PACT COUNTRIES: 1919 to 2000 Combined chronological listing covering this period Next: Modern Internationalism

1919 Poland recognized as independent state after First World War
1941 Josip Broz Tito leads coommunist revolution in Yugoslavia
1945 Death of King Zog of Albania
1945 Death of Bela Bartok (Hungarian composer)
1947 "Iron Curtain" effectively drawn around Soviet-controlled countries
1948 Enver Hoxha leads Albania as independent Stalinist state
1949 Comecon established to coordinate Soviet block economies
1955 Warsaw Pact signed by USSR, Poland, Romania, Hungary,
Poland, East Germany, Czechoslovakia and Albania
1956 Hungarian revolt brutally suppressed by Soviets
1961 Berlin Wall built between East and West Germany
1968 Albania withdraws from Warsaw Pact for ideological reasons
1968 Prague Spring uprising in Czechoslovakia crushed by Soviets
1972 Treaty recognizes East and West Germany as sovereign states
1980 Gdansk Shipyard Strike in Poland - Lech Walesa forms Solidarity
1980 Tito dies - Yugoslavia's six states begin to argue
1980 Relations between East and West Germany deteriorate
1982 Martial law in Poland ended by Solidarity action
1985 Enver Hoxha dies - Albania gradually relaxes foreign relations
1985 Pro-Solidarity Father Jerzy Popieluzsko assassinated in Poland
1989 Overthrow of communist rule in Poland, Hungary, East Germany and Bulgaria
1989 Non-violent Velvet Revolution in Czechoslovakia
1989 Violent overthrow of Ceausescu's communist regime in Romania
1989 Berlin Wall demolished
1990 East and West Germany unite as Federal Republic of Germany
1991 Official dissolution of Warsaw Pact
1992 Civil war in Bosnia-Herzegovina starts
1995 End of war in Bosnia-Herzegovina

Back to Top