Previous: Independent AmericaBack to Main Index MODERN SCANDINAVIA: 1778 to 2000 Combined chronological listing covering this period Next: French Republic and Empire

1778 Swede Linnaeus publishes treatise on biological labelling
1814 Denmark cedes Norway to Sweden
1866 Swede Alfred Nobel produces dynamite
1905 Norway separates from Sweden
1906 Death of Henrik Ibsen (Norwegian dramatist)
1906 Norwegian Roald Amundsen navigates North-West Passage
1907 Death of Edvard Grieg (Norwegian composer)
1911 Norwegian Roald Amundsen becomes first to reach South Pole
1922 Dane Niels Bohr wins Nobel Prize for work on atomic theory
1944 Iceland declares independence from Denmark
1957 Death of Jean Sibelius (Finnish composer)
1973 Carl XVI Gustaf becomes King of Sweden
1983 Norway's Gro Harlen Brundtland establishes WCED

Back to Top