Previous: French Republic and EmpireBack to Main Index MODERN LATIN AMERICA: 1800 to 2000 Combined chronological listing covering this period Next: Colonial Africa

1800 Haiti becomes first independent state in Latin America
1810 Argentina first South American state to declare independence
1810 Simón Bolívar leads uprising against Spaniards in Venezuela
1822 Brazil becomes nominally independent of Portugal
1830 Simón Bolívar dies having liberated northern half of South America
1863 Maximilian of Austria made Emperor of Mexico - shot in 1867
1876 Dictatorship of Porfirio Díaz begins in Mexico
1889 Brazil officially declared a republic
1902 Eruption of Mount Pelée, Martinique (40,000 killed)
1910 Mexican Revolution under Emiliano Zapata and Pancho Villa leads to civil war
1914 Panama Canal opened
1917 Democratic constition established in Mexico
1930 Military coup in Brazil, start of Vargas dictatorship
1946 General Juan Perón elected president of Argentina
1952 Bolivian Revolution
1952 Death of Eva Perón ("Evita") in Argentina
1955 Coup deposes dictator Juan Perón in Argentina
1959 Fidel Castro establishes communist dictatorship in Cuba
1961 Cuban Missile Crisis after US-backed anti-Castro Bay of Pigs invasion fails
1964 Military dictatorship established in Brazil
1967 Che Guevara, Cuban revolutionary leader, killed in Bolivia
1970 Sendero Luminoso ("Shining Path") Maoist guerrilla group founded in Peru
1971 Hugo Banzer leads military coup in Bolivia and becomes dictator
1973 General Augusto Pinochet ousts democratic Allende government in Chile
1976 Military coup in Argentina and start of state-sponsored "Dirty War" (until 1983)
1979 Military coup in Bolivia
1979 Somoza regime in Nicaragua ousted by leftist Sandinistas
1982 Britain regain Falklands Islands (Malvinas) after Argentinian occupation
1985 Brazil returns to democratic civilian rule
1985 Nevado del Ruiz volcano in Colombia claims 25,000 lives
1990 Alberto Fujimori elected President in Peru

Back to Top