Previous: Modern Warsaw Pact CountriesBack to Main Index MODERN INTERNATIONALISM: 1919 to 2000 Combined chronological listing covering this period Next: Modern Spain and Portugal

1918 Spanish influenza pandemic (50 to 100 million killed worldwide)
1919 League of Nations formed
1944 International Monetary Fund (IMF) established
1945 United Nations (UN) formed
1946 League of Nations formally abandoned
1948 Organization of American States (OAS) formed
1949 North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) formed
1949 Council of Europe formed
1955 Warsaw Pact signed by 7 East European countries and USSR
1957 European Economic Comunity (EEC) established
1960 Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) established
1967 General Agreement on Tarrifs and Trade (GATT) formulated
1972 European Free Trade Agreement (EFTA)
1973 Huge OPEC oil price increases slow world economy
1981 AIDS becomes major health threat throughout world
1989 European Monetary System (EMS) establishes move towards single currency
1993 European Union (EU) formed by former EEC members
1994 North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) established
1995 World Trade Organization (WTO) established to replace GATT
1999 Euro launched on international currency markets

Back to Top