Previous: Britain under the Tudors Back to Main Index IMPERIAL PORTUGAL: 1488 to 1910 Combined chronological listing covering this period Next: The New World

1488 Portuguese Bartholomeu Dias first to round Cape of Good Hope
1498 Portuguese Vasco de Gama reaches India by sea
1500 Pedro Cabral claims Brazil for Portugal
1510 Portuguese trading empire established at Goa, India
1522 Portuguese Ferdinand Magellan's expedition for Spain first to circumnavigate globe
1551 Portuguese monopolize trade with China from Malacca
1580 Philip II of Spain annexes Portugal and its dependencies
1640 Portugal establishes independence from Spain again
1910 Portuguese monarchy abolished in favour of republic

Back to Top