Previous: Barbarian Invasions Back to Main Index BYZANTINE EMPIRE: 315 to 1453 Combined chronological listing covering this period Next: Early Spain and Portugal

315 Roman Empire split into East (Byzantine) and West
330 Emperor Constantine builds Constantinople (Byzantium)
527 Accession of Emperor Justinian - Code of Civil Law
537 Hagia Sophia cathedral built in Constantinople
552 Byzantines complete conquest of Italy and Spain
627 Byzantines under Heraclius defeat Persians
1018 Bulgars subjected by Byzantine Emperor Basil 11
1261 Constantinople restored to Byzantine rule after 4th Crusade
1453 Constantinople taken by Turks - end of Byzantine Empire

Back to Top