Previous: Britain under the StuartsBack to Main Index AUSTRALIA AND NEW ZEALAND: 1606 to 2000 Combined chronological listing covering this period Next: Russia under the Romanovs

1606 Dutch explorers land on Australian mainland
1642 Abel Tasman claims Tasmania for Netherlands - later claimed by Britain
1770 Captain James Cook claims New Zealand and Eastern Australia for Britain
1788 First British convicts deported to settle Australia
1813 Interior of Australia begins to be opened up
1814 British missionaries start to convert Maoris of New Zealand
1840 British officially control New Zealand
1851 Gold discovered in Australia
1852 New Zealand's constitution established
1867 End of transportation of criminals to Australia
1893 New Zealand becomes first country to give vote to women
1901 Commonwealth of Australia established
1951 ANZUS Pact signed by Australia, New Zealand and USA
1953 New Zealander Sir Edmund Hillary first to reach summit of Everest

Back to Top